Day 11 – Something you wished hadn’t happened in context with Richard.

And yet, another entry I’ve had difficulty putting into words. And not because I’ve had a hard time thinking of something to say, quite the contrary. I know exactly why I wish this hadn’t happened and I’m sure that off in the bowels of the lowest, most judgmental part of the internet, there are those who will have something to say about this and some might actually say it to me and fewer will come out from behind that most common name – anonymous – and say it. And others might care that people are saying things about what they said. And then again, people I’m on friendly terms with will most likely disagree with me.

But when did I ever care about what someone else said or thought about me?

So. Without further ado.

The one thing I wish hadn’t happened in context to Richard is – I wish he had NEVER gotten on social media.

ClKnjgBUsAAUzxj.jpg

Now, I’m not the only one who has said this. And I understand that social media is a fabulous and necessary vehicle and tool these days to promote one’s works and charities, which is what Richard said was the reason why he did it. And I applaud such desires. And I admit, I’ve enjoyed the teasers of what’s next and knowing what he supports – and yes, those charities will melt this old Conservative heart of mine – and the selfies, oh yes indeed, I love those selfies…

10892027_10205034818805600_170093108256121424_n

But he didn’t stick to that and I know I have no right to demand he DO stick to that and won’t. But with the promotion of work and charities and the now rare selfie,

Ck_FkghWsAEigMB

came other things that I don’t necessarily think is my business and that conversation among the fandom that goes with it.

And the judging.

And the arguing.

And the fandom whining.

And the sudden sound of torrential hurricane-like wind that came with the speed of how quickly that man deletes a tweet.

I’m not on Twitter much and my Tumbling has dropped to an almost nonexistent level as well, but even so, I’m blown away at the level of microscutiny (is that a word? It is now!) of every word, every post, and even every follow the man makes.

CuLuh-xWcAAYZcR

I don’t care about his politics. That’s not why I follow him. I don’t care about his personal life. That’s not why I follow him. I don’t care to discuss-ponder-consider-mull-debate-weigh in- examine in minute detail -deliberate-converse-review-contemplate where he is at any given moment of the day. Everyone deserves a private life.

But that’s what’s come along with Richard being on social media.

There are those who will claim it demystifies the man. Everyone has their fantasy or what they wish he were or weren’t or how they think he is. He’s said it himself – you don’t know me. You’re in love with the character. I’m anti-social and crabby. I’m ill-tempered. You don’t know me. I don’t. We don’t. Social media whether intentional or not, strips away those layers and exposes much of what we don’t wish – intentionally or not – to see.

042415

And what happens is we discover – whether intentionally or not – how judgmental we are ourselves.

Or how strong our blinders are.

What we’ve discovered is yes, our darling is human. With pros and cons and political opinions and food opinions and opinions period and likes and dislikes.

And that’s what I’m going to say about that.

005zvhqwjw1ev9wo6o7bmj30hs0nowjg

I do wish he’d start posting selfies again.

My sister is here with her daughter. College is out for both her and Spawn. Spawn did extremely well this semester – including an 86 average in Trig. I’m so proud. We are going to grill steaks and potatoes and corn on the cob and enjoy some unusually cool weather before they head into The Interior this afternoon. I have 10 days left of children. 4 days of post planning. I’m hoping to be completely DONE on the first day so I can spend the 3 other days chilling. It has been a particularly difficult year. But more about that at a later date. Right now, I’m told there is a game of Uno or Rook awaiting my presence.

