So for those of you who are following along with my reading exploits this year, here are the combined 3 challenges I’m doing.

  1. A book you own but haven’t read
  2. A book that was made into a movie
  1. A book you pick solely because of the cover
  2. A book your friend loves
  3. A book published this year
  4. A book by an author you’ve never read before
  5. A book by an author you love
  6. A book with a color in the title
  1. A book at the bottom of you’re to be read pile
  2. A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit
  3. A book you started but never finished
  4. A book with a lion, a witch or a wardrobe
  5. A book with a female heroine
  6. A book set in the summer
  7. A book of poems
  8. A book you learned about because of this challenge
  9. A book that will make you smarter
  10. A book with a Blue cover
  11. A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t
  1. A book everyone but you has read
  2. A book with a great first line
  3. A book with pictures or a graphic novel
  4. a book from the library
  5. A book you loved… read it again!
  6. A book that is more than 10 years old
  7. A book based on a true story
  8. A book you’ve been meaning to read
  9. A book in a genre you don’t typically read
  1. A book from your childhood
  2. A book your mom loves
  3. A book that was originally written in a different lauguage
  4. A book recommended by someone with great taste
  5. A book that’s currently on the bestseller list
  6. A book with more than 500 pages
  7. A classic romance
  8. A book with a number in the title
  9. A book written by someone under 30
  10. A book with non human characters
  11. a funny book
  12. a book by a female author
  13. a mystery or thriller
  14. a book with a one-word title
  15. a book of short stories
  16. A book set in a different country
  17. a nonfiction book
  18. a popular author’s first book
  19. a book from an you love that you haven’t read yet
  20. a pulitzer prize-winning book
  21. a book based on a true store
  22. a book that scares you
  23. a book more than 100 years old
  24. A memoir
  25. a book you can finish in a day
  26. a book with antonyms in the title
  27. A book that came out the year you were born
  28. a book with bad reviews
  29. a trilogy
  30. A book with a love triangle
  31. A book set in high school
  32. A book that made you cry
  33. A book with magic
  34. A book that takes place in your hometown
  35. A book written by an author with your same initials
  36. A book set during Christmas
  37. A play
  38. A banned book
  39. A book based on or turned into a TV Show

Some of the books will answer more than one requirement. Others I find rather ridiculous – a book you own. I own ALL of the books I’m reading… except for the library one I’ll have to pick out, of course. I guess that will be a book that does double duty.

For the most part, I have them picked out, except for the categories that are bolded and underlined. I figure a Trilogy will happen. I don’t want to decide on a trilogy and then hate the first book so much I really don’t want to read the rest. Ex – 50 Shades of Grey. I started that one, skimmed it and was revolted by it, so it’s going to be the one I power my way through as The Book That Got Awful Reviews. I might need this…

vomit bucket

I could be pissy and actually read The Crucible for my Play spec, seeing how I’m not plunking down buckies to download it from a disreputable site. I hear they’re selling the interview now as well. Seeing how they could be assed to at least respond to my official complaint… No Digital. Not impressed. At all.

I suppose I could read Shakespeare. Or… something else. I dunno. I’m not a Shakespeare fan. Maybe I could READ Hamlet… or maybe I could fudge a little and say since I listened to Richard read Hamlet to me, then I read it… sorta.

Maybe not. That would be cheating, I suppose.

We’ve found old video tapes. Apparently, when my son was QUITE young, his grandfather allowed him to roam the house with it, making various comments about life, love, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and Cinnamon Rolls. It’s been quite amusing. I had quite forgotten what he sounded like before his voice changed.

