Now I think (or at the very least HOPE) that by now, anyone following me here isn’t following me for the deep thoughts about humanity or mankind. There is no political stomping, no answers for world peace. Just me viewing life, whining about pollen and germs and of course… 

 

Image

 

and a little bit of

 

Image

 

But I digress! 

 

Today, I poke fun at myself (again). I think, by now, considering my love for books and music and other things, it might be concluded that I am a hoarder. In fact, I am NOT a hoarder… I’m a packrat. There is a difference. A hoarder continually brings in things and adds to the collective whereas a packrat simply keeps everything regardless. Moldy food goes in the trash, moldy shower curtains do not. Spray it down in bleach and wash it. Do NOT toss. I repeat: DO NOT TOSS! 

 

As a result, I have a problem and it boils down to a hugeassmongeous amount of stuff I own. 

 

When I left the coast in 2010, I knew I had a problem. I left behind a cram-packed 10×30, a cram-pack 10×10 and 2 rooms of cram-packed empty kitchen and 2nd bedroom in a friend’s empty duplex. Admittedly, that’s a lot of stuff for a Zee and a Spawn to own – but remember, we had a completely furnished 3 bedroom house with formal dining room, sunroom and then there was all my stuff from work.(music)  And the books. And Music!!!! 

 

Over the next 2 years, I returned often and stayed a few days in an attempt to ‘whittle down’… which I did do. By 2012, I was out of the duplex and had the 10 x 10 down to maybe a little over half full. In October of last year, I decided enough was enough. I KNEW I could get everything into the 10 x 30, however, the problem was I needed to pull everything out and restack it and that would take…

 

Days. Mostly because at the end of the day, everything needed to go back in and then I’d get to dig it out. We were also hindered by weather – basically HIGH HEAT!!! When it’s 90 by 8 AM, you know there is a problem. Also I have a back that doesn’t hold up like it used to. However, we discovered I had a window of time to do what was necessary in October, if we minded our p’s and q’s. A friend offered us his empty home that was within 10 miles for free, so we had shower and cooking facilities (and a very comfortable kingsize bed, btw!) All that was missing was… 

Image

 

(thank you perry322 at tumblr!) 

 

Anyway (I’m getting to it) I took pictures to show my friends because they REALLY didn’t get the depth of the job that Spawn and I were preparing to kill ourselves with. We decided that we were NOT going to Goodwill. If it was trash – it was going in the trash. Period. Every time we filled the trunk and went to Goodwill, we lost an hour, sometimes more and time is precious. So forget that noise. Either way, I took pictures, played with an old photoshop program (PSE 5.0 – yes, that old) and what ensued was this….

 

Yes I have finally gotten to the point. (I wish I knew how to do an LJ cut for this. THis is going to be SOOOOO huge.) 

 

So after a late arrival on Wednesday night, our work (to be done by Monday) began. For the record, I DO talk to The Almighty , a LOT! And our conversations do go like this. 

 

Image

 

And I said… yeah, I know… 

 

Image

 

That would be the 10 x 10 and it looks good considering it was full when I first packed it oh back in 2010! 

 

Image

Image

This would be the 10 x 30. I was in a hurry when I… erm… packed it… 

Image

Yes, that would a box with the bottom that has fallen out, dropping the floppy discs and cassettes all over everywhere. 

Image

 

And both sides are stacked…  ANYWAY… and God sez…. Girlfriend, this is pretty bad… 

 

Image

And Zee said… ain’t all of this mine, son… see dat?

 

Image

and dis? 

 

Image

Remember the lightsaber and the Abu that somehow get into the trunk for Goodwilling and yet somehow are BACK on that big blue bookcase when we return… hmmmmm????  So check your only child mama gave up a lot for you privilege! 

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

And about this time, Zee’s back went out for the day… 

 

Image

Image

 

GASP! And there were like BUNCHES of them too!!!! ALL EMPTY!!! And it was Friday, meaning Zee had the weekend to take advantage!!! And she could pull out the 10 x 30!!!!! And not worry about stacking it back EVERY FRICKING SINGLE NIGHT!!! 

 

Image

 

Image

Because, lo, I was trashing crap. 

Image

 

Oh look. The leaning tower of keep refrigerated… 

Image

 

But over the span of 2 days, this happened.. 

Image

Image

 

and this… 

 

Image

 

became this.

Image

(I actually went in deeper. About 10 feet… if weekends were 4 days, I’d have gone in 20 feet! But….) 

 

Image

Image

 

Ignore the cardboard box with books.

Image

(they were empty when he brought them to me.) 

 

Image

 

Image

 

Because what goes out, must go back in. 

 

Image

Leaning towers of le junque are very dangerous. Easy to fix, but not crushed boxes. (We won’t make any comparisons to crushed balls…) 

 

Image

 

Image

Definitely NOT something one wants at the bottom of a stack – especially when I’m going to be stacking to the ceiling. (10 feet for those of you who are curious!)  Either way, it had seen its last days, so we rehoused what was salvageable inside and had an appropriate funeral and 3 seconds of silence for its demise. 

Image

ImageImageImage

Image

 

BAM!

Image

 

(That’s MUSIC in that box!) 

ImageImage

(that would be a rather delicate wicker bunny basket. I always worry when he goes into storage.) 

 

Image

(that would be my collection of buttons, most of which are inappropriate for school.) 

Image

ImageImage

 

Blessed are Spawn who puts up with his mother and still loves her. Or so he claims. 

 

ImageImage

 

blushes

Image

Image

Image

Image

 

Yep. They all got slung to the back. Over and over and over until I stopped my march. 

 

Image

Image

 

On the other hand, all of my cleaning supplies are in it and I made sure it was close to the front, so it will be easy to locate on the beautiful, blessed day I HAVE MY OWN PLACE AGAIN!!!! 

Image

Image

 

Poor frightened little lamp… as it should be terrified!!!! 

 

Image

 

MUCH better!!! (btw  the bulldog hat and the board games would be another example of stuff not mine (and he has quite a bit of furniture as well. 2 bedroom suites…) 

 

Image

Image

(for the record, when I did this, we were in the middle of the stupidest, most ass-backwards government shut down ever. Off political soapbox!) 

Image

 

ImageImage

TAH DAH!!! 

 

Image

 

 

See this???? Do you know what this is??? 

 

Image

That’s called a FOOT HOLD! Something I didn’t have in the 10×30 4 days previously! You bet your butt I’m proud! 

Image

eh???

Image

Image

Yes I did. Trash man came right after Spawn went dumpster diving and found those lovely empty storage bins on our first day. 

Image

 

And we finished in time to go the beach – which I miss dreadfully and found THIS…

 

Image

 

Please don’t hate me. I’m bored. 

 

 

 

 

 

